Skip to content

Weekend Successes and Failures

by on July 15, 2013

In keeping with the ‘Pin Perfect Life’ theme I thought I’d share our successes and failures from this weekend. 

Successes:

~ Managed to clean master bedroom/post hurricane disaster area

~ Played board games with our gaming friends

~ Went grocery shopping for week

~ Folded and put away 5 loads of laundry

~ washed a few more loads of laundry

~ served frozen waffles and bananas for Sunday breakfast (seriously, I usually do cereal… without milk because I’m not a morning person)

~ Cut and numbered the table flags for my upcoming work event this week

~ made Ranch porkchops from scratch and served with scalloped potatoes (boxed) and corn (frozen with butter sauce off the cob)

~ did dishes that were sitting in the sink WHILE dinner was cooking (but I still have the handwash only stuff to do…)

~ took a nap

~ Cleaned the coffee pot with vinegar

~ made my favorite summer drink and food at home instead of buying it from the store (Passion Tea Lemonade and cashew chicken salad- just makes me happy thinking about it)

 

 

Failures:

~ smashed Phoebe’s finger under our heavy heavy dining room table when I moved it to get her foot unstuck 😥

~ cut my finger putting the knives into the knife block

~ Didn’t get anything done outside (too hot and/or raining)

~ Tore a giant hole in the scrap fabric bed I was making for the dog (which will turn out ok because if I ripped a hole in it, it wouldn’t stand a chance on her claws)

~ Failed to get to the dog food store for the 5th day in a row to buy new dog food (it’s all the way on the other end of town) so I keep snagging some from the bag of food my brother left for when his dog stays here

~ A million other things that I always think “I’ll get that done” and then never get to

~ Didn’t manage to finish all the centerpieces for my work event this week. I’ll get them done, but it would have been nice to have them finished before Monday. I’m actually pretty happy with how they’ve turned out so I guess that’s a win, but time management for the fail)

~ Failed to take over the world and make profits from stealing underwear

 

Sigh. Someday I’ll be better at getting everything done. Until then though I must admit I had a good weekend. We took the girls to a picnic at the park on Friday night. We played games and got lots of stuff cleaned on Saturday WHILE having the girls home (if we do big projects, we usually plan them for when the girls are at their Grandparents house). We played bingo with the girls last night and I introduced them to Calvin and Hobbs. Sometimes it’s worth not finishing that to-do list to have some quality time with your family. 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

