Skip to content

My dirty little secret…

by on July 13, 2013

Ok, so it’s not really a secret so much as something that everyone that’s ever met me probably already knows. I suck at cleaning. I hate it and love it at the same time.

I long for a clean and tidy house but so often life gets in the way. While we can somewhat keep up appearances in the main living areas, our bedroom is ALWAYS or almost always the last room on the cleaning docket. This has been true for my entire life. I will volunteer to do dishes before I clean my room. Bad example to set for the children and it just adds stress to my marriage.

Don’t get me wrong, there’s not food sitting in there. We have a no eating in your room rule in our house. It’s usually just random detritus that accumulates from the rest of the house. Well, that and laundry. I hate laundry too. The problem is that the dirty laundry starts to pile up (first world problem much?) and then the dog decides that she needs to build a nest out of it and I never get around to washing it then. Then you find yourself in a day like today… waking up in the morning and wondering what the hell that smell is that makes you want to gag.

Our bedroom smelled like 3 months of dirty laundry that had been slept in, rolled around on, and cuddled with by the dog (who always seems to stink no matter what, even right after a bath). Probably because that’s exactly what it was.

Well no more. I sucked it up, put on my big girl panties, and got to work. Two giant piles of laundry have been bagged or basket-ed up and moved to the laundry room (which also needs cleaned). Two bags of trash (mostly random crap from our pockets, things the girls have brought in to us in the bedroom, and empty shoe boxes) have been removed and sent to the holding area by our back door to await whomever has the bad luck to step out that door next and thus the responsibility to carry the pile to the trash cans. All our sheets are being washed. I vacuumed the floor, edges and corners, cobwebs, and ceiling fan. I wiped down the nightstands and dressers. I Fabreezed the crap out of everything and even flipped the mattress.

In return for getting the bedroom cleaned I now smell like a truck stop restroom and feel like a sack of potatoes (lumpy, dirty, and musty). I will get off my butt and shower here eventually, but I felt the need to share with you all my dirty little secret. I HATE to clean my bedroom.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

